We welcome your inquiries and comments.

Albemarle Chapter DAR

P. O. Box 5037

Charlottesville, VA  22905-5037






Thank you for visiting our website!


Albemarle is in Virginia's Piedmont

Albemarle County is home to the Rivanna River - part of the Chesapeake Bay watershed - that forms at the confluence of two tributaries originating in the Blue Ridge Mountains. This confluence was noted by Thomas Jefferson in his 1781 work, Notes on the State of Virginia, as a possible burial mound site of the Saponi Native American people whose main village is believed to have been in the vicinity of present-day Charlottesville, Virginia. Albemarle County comprises 726 square miles (1,880 square kilometers) of mostly rolling hills in the Piedmont region of Virginia between the Blue Ridge Mountains to the west and coastal plains to the east.

Albemarle County, Virginia, was formed in 1744. It is home to three presidents’ homes: Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello, James Madison’s Montpelier, and James Monroe’s Ash-Lawn. Albemarle County assumed its present boundaries in 1777. It was named in honor of William Ann Keppel, second Earl of Albemarle, who was then governor of the colony. In 1761, county government was moved to Charlottesville, which was established as a town in 1762 and established as a city in 1888.

Albemarle County D A R Logo

© 2019  Albemarle DAR All Rights Reserved